Conferences

CCERBAL 2023 Conference

Bilingualism and Multilingualism:

Transversal Competences, Mobility, and Well-Being

May 4-6, 2023

 

Conference Format: Options to participate both in person and online will be available

 

Plenary Speakers:

Sunny Man Chu Lau (Bishop's University)

Peter MacIntyre (Cape Breton University)

Caroline Payant (Université du Québec à Montréal)

Meike Wernicke (University of British Columbia)

 

Conference Chairs:

Nikolay Slavkov (University of Ottawa), Pierre-Luc Paquet (University of Texas at Tyler), Nina Woll (Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières)

 

Call

 

The focus of the CCERBAL 2023 Conference will be on conceptual, empirical, and practice-based contributions on language pedagogy, technology, assessment, language policy, family language policy, and beyond. This call welcomes a wide variety of interdisciplinary submissions which may (but are not required to) address the following three overlapping themes: transversal competences, mobility, and well-being.

Transversal competences have recently come to the forefront in education and in society more generally. Their definition can be elusive, and they are variably known as soft skills, 21st century skills, core competencies, transferable skills, etc. (cf. Council of Europe ECML, 2021). Some examples of transversal competences proposed by UNESCO (2015) include global citizenship, inter- and intra-personal skills, critical and innovative thinking, as well as physical and psychological health. Transversal competences are inextricably related to language teaching and learning; they also apply to family and societal bi/multilingualism in a globalized world and thus have overarching social significance.

Mobility is another defining characteristic of 21st century society. Global flows and exchanges of ideas, internationalized education, personal travel, transnational families, economic migration, as well as fleeing wars and persecution are types of mobility that raise new and important questions. In addition, digital technology has offered yet another type of mobility in parallel to physical mobility. Such new developments require renewed impetus for innovative pedagogies and policies, in many of the following contexts: language teaching and learning; bi/multilingual use in academic, cultural, business, and daily life exchanges; supporting global diversity and inclusion; empowering plurilingual migrant populations in school classrooms to become confident and competent users of a host country’s language while also creating the necessary conditions for preserving their original languages and identities; and many others.

Human well-being is tightly connected to the above themes. Recent work on language teacher well-being has raised questions about how to ensure teachers are well-supported, validated, retained in the profession, encouraged to innovate, and engage learners; learner well-being is a key issue in a context of multilingual and multicultural classrooms with various unique learner needs and objectives. Supporting the development of bilingual and multilingual children at the family level and building bridges to schooling and other formal educational contexts also form part of what is known as harmonious bi/multilingualism (De Houwer, 2020) and general well-being. Finally, an overall focus on general well-being for all stakeholders has become increasingly important during the COVID-19 pandemic and the eagerly anticipated post-pandemic recovery.

 

Non-exhaustive list of topics:

  • Language teaching, learning, and assessment
  • Language, technology, gamification, digital citizenship, virtual mobility, artificial intelligence
  • Language policy and family language policy
  • Languages of schooling, immersion studies, bi-/multilingual education, language intensive programs
  • Links between home languages and school languages
  • Flexible, experiential, community-based, and informal language learning
  • Indigenized curriculum development and delivery
  • Value-based curricula, democracy, and peace building
  • Inclusion, social justice, and equity
  • Language, mobility, and migration
  • Linguistic security/insecurity
  • Linguistic risk-taking
  • Mediation, language development across the lifespan
  • Nurturing the next generation of researchers and teachers
  • Academic literacies, multiliteracies, and multimodality
  • Third spaces and dialogue between spaces
  • Plurilingualism, multilingualism, translanguaging
  • Official languages, Heritage languages, Modern languages, Indigenous languages, Sign languages, Minority languages, ‘Big’ languages vs. ‘Small’ languages, Languages other than English (LOTE)
  • Canadian Language Benchmarks
  • CEFR and its companion volume
  • Psychology of language learning, emotions, positive psychology

Format of submissions: oral presentations, posters, round tables, thematic symposia, and workshops. Options to participate both in person and online will be available.


Important Dates:

Submissions open: July 1, 2022

Submissions close: November 1, 2022

Acceptance notifications and registration: early 2023

Conference dates: May 4-6, 2023


Venue: Canadian Centre for Studies and Research on Bilingualism and Language Planning (CCERBAL), Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute (OLBI), University of Ottawa.


Featured Events: Plenary sessions, round tables and thematic symposia, professional development workshops; social activities (in person and online), and much more.


For more information, please contact us at the following address: ccerbal@uOttawa.ca.  

 

Conference website: https://ccerbal2023.sciencesconf.org/?forward-action=index&forward-controller=index&lang=en

Bilingualism and Beyond - 2021
Banner CCERBAL Conference 2021

 

Bilingualism and Beyond: Advancing the Thinking on Pedagogies, Policies and Practices


April 29 - May 1, 2021

THE CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS IS NOW CLOSED

PLENARY SPEAKERS:

Françoise Armand – Université de Montréal
James Cummins – University of Toronto
Onowa McIvor - University of Victoria
Eva Vetter - University of Vienna

The conference is organized by CCERBAL in collaboration with EDiLiC
EDiLiC International Association 

A GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE. The world has taken a multilingual turn: an increased awareness that monolingualism is an exception rather than a norm and unprecedented mass migrations have created impetus for continued pedagogical, assessment, policy, and technological innovations to reflect changing global realities. New calls for recognition and specific actions to support diversity, inclusion, equity, and citizenship related to languages have also come to the forefront of global thinking.

THE CANADIAN CONTEXT. In keeping with global trends, Canada has entered a new era in its thinking and actions regarding the role and impact of languages in its complex and diverse social fabric. Continuing to celebrate French-English bilingualism, the Government of Canada has recently launched consultations on modernizing the Official Languages Act and has announced an investment of over $16 million to implement a free learning and maintenance program for French and English. Strong voices for according a new place and offering higher recognition to Indigenous languages have triggered consultations on an Indigenous Languages Act. In addition, close to 23% of Canadians report having a language other than English or French as a mother tongue (Statistics Canada, 2017).

THE CALL. Within this rich and stimulating global and local context, the Canadian Centre for Studies and Research on Bilingualism and Language Planning (CCERBAL) is launching a call for its 2020 Conference. We welcome proposals for individual presentations, posters, symposia, round tables and workshops transcending boundaries and bringing thinking and action to the next level on topics related, but not limited, to the following:

  • Language teaching, learning, and assessment
  • Language and Technology
  • Language policy and family language policy
  • Flexible, experiential, community and informal language learning
  • Academic literacies, multiliteracies and multimodality
  • Languages of schooling, immersion studies, bi-/multilingual education, language intensive programs
  • The role of L1(s) or mother tongue(s) in second/additional language teaching
  • Inclusion, social justice and equity
  • Creation and intersection of third spaces and dialogue between spaces
  • Language and migration
  • Plurilingualism, multilingualism, translanguaging
  • Official languages, Heritage languages, Modern languages, Indigenous languages, Sign languages, Minority languages, ‘Big’ languages vs. ‘Small’ languages
  • Languages other than English (LOTE)

IMPORTANT DATES:

Submissions open: August 1, 2019

Submissions close: December 1, 2019

Conference dates: April 29 - May 1, 2021

VENUE: Canadian Centre for Studies and Research on Bilingualism and Language Planning (CCERBAL), Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute (OLBI), University of Ottawa.

FEATURED EVENTS: Plenary sessions, round tables and thematic symposia, professional development workshops, social activities and more.

CONFERENCE CHAIRS:

Nikolay Slavkov (University of Ottawa), Marie-Paule Lory (University of Toronto Mississauga) and Catherine Levasseur (University of Ottawa).

For more information, please contact us at the following address: ccerbal@uOttawa.ca.

Conference Web site: https://ccerbal2020.sciencesconf.org

Translanguaging: Opportunities and Challenges in a Global World - 2018

Translanguaging: Opportunities and Challenges in a Global World

Plenary speakers: Ofelia García (City University of New York), Guillaume Gentil (Carleton University), and Danièle Moore (Simon Fraser University)

ccerbal_titre_en

Venue: Social Sciences Hall, University of Ottawa.

Conference dates: May 3-4, 2018.

Featured events: Round tables and thematic symposia on Linguistic Risk-Taking, Bilingual and Multilingual Policies, and much more.

Conference theme: Translanguaging, a construct referring to the complex use of more than one language as a (combined) resource, has captured the imagination of researchers, educators, and policy makers around the world. The role of translanguaging as a linguistic and social practice in family, community, educational and institutional contexts raises a number of stimulating and challenging questions that call for continued discussion.

CCERBAL 2018: Ofelia Garcia's Plenary Session
CCERBAL 2018: Danièle Moore's Plenary Session
CCERBAL 2018: Guillaume Gentil's Plenary Session
 

 

Visit the Conference Website for more information

Bilingual from birth: process, pedagogy and policy - 2016

 

CCERBAL Conferences

Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute (OLBI), University of Ottawa

Visit our OCS website for registration, the program, parking and additional information

Watch the conference PART1 PART2

April 28 & April 29, 2016

The Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute (OLBI), through its research centre the CCERBAL, is hosting an international conference titled ‘Bilingual from birth: process, pedagogy and policy’

The two-day conference will be a unique occasion for researchers, teachers, students and all others with an interest in bilingual development to gather and share knowledge and ideas. Invited symposia on the topics of “Simultaneous bilingualism from an early age“ and “the Consequences of bilingualism for identity“ as well as round table meetings on “Raising kids in more than one language“ and “Cultural and intercultural policy aspects“ will provide forums for in-depth discussions of the conference themes and will facilitate exchanges between invited speakers and participants. The conference will be held on the University of Ottawa bilingual campus, in Canada’s national capital. It welcomes proposals on the teaching and learning of second and foreign languages, from a life development point of view, in a wide range of contexts. In light of the venue of the conference, proposals on the learning of Canada’s official languages (French and English) as well native, heritage and minority languages will be of particular interest.

Proposals are invited for papers, workshops or posters on (but not restricted to) the following topics:

  1. Simultaneous acquisition of more than one language
  2. Cognitive and social consequences of bi and plurilingualism
  3. The evaluation of bilingual competence
  4. The characteristics of exceptional bilinguals
  5. Societal and policy implications of bilingual development
  6. The simultaneous and/or sequential teaching of more than one language
  7. Innovative research methods in bilingual development
  8. Lexical, phonological, and syntactic aspects of bilingual development.

Conference chairs are Christopher Fennell (fennell@uottawa.ca) and Richard Clément (rclement@uottawa.ca).

Enjoy our photo gallery

Literacies and Autonomy of Advanced Language Learners - 2014

Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute
University of Ottawa
April 24 and 25, 2014

The Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute’s research centre, CCERBAL, is organizing its sixth international conference, to be held in April 2014 on the bilingual campus of the University of Ottawa. The seminar theme will address a wide variety of perspectives, including:

  • Assessment and evaluation of the competency of high-level bilinguals. We will explore descriptors proposed by the various bodies such as CEFR, Canadian Benchmarks; the limits and challenges of various testing and assessment tools, and the ideologies linked to advanced language learners/users.
  • Acquisition and maintenance of advanced language competencies. We will examine the challenges and choices related to second language teaching and learning for advanced language learners; the language support needs of high-level bilinguals.
  • The use of technology for teaching and language learning at an advanced level. We will discuss the challenges and issues related to autonomy, autodidaxy of the advanced learner, of those best adapted to teaching and learning for advanced language learners of technological resources to support high-level bilinguals in the workplace, of the training of teachers and instructors.
  • Language policy, planning and maintenance in bi/multilingual work spaces. We will address the structures required to support the competency of high-level bilinguals of the place of language on the hiring, promotion and renewing of personnel of value and recognition of bi/plurilingual competencies in the workplace.

This two-day conference will be a unique occasion to meet in order to share and discuss ideas, findings, knowledge and practices for researchers, teaching professionals, students, language policy specialists and planners as well as other participants with an interest in the thematic of advanced language learners.

The plenary speakers:

The symposium of the Research Chair in CALL:

Round Tables:

Watch the videos online

Enjoy our photo gallery 

Conference SCHEDULE with authors and Rooms (April 23rd, 2014)

Innovative Practices in Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL) - 2012
Latinus - 2012
20Bliain - 2011
Back to top

Colloques

Colloque du CCERBAL 2023

Bilinguisme et multilinguisme :

Compétences transversales, mobilité et bien-être

4-6 mai 2023

 

Format du colloque : des options de participation en personne et en ligne seront disponibles

 

Séances plénières :

Sunny Man Chu Lau (Bishop’s University)

Peter MacIntyre (Cape Breton University)

Caroline Payant (Université du Québec à Montréal)

Meike Wernicke (University of British Columbia)

 

Présidents du colloque :

Nikolay Slavkov (Université d’Ottawa), Pierre-Luc Paquet (University of Texas à Tyler), Nina Woll (Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières)

 

Appel

Le Colloque du CCERBAL 2023 se concentrera sur les contributions conceptuelles, empiriques et pratiques à la pédagogie des langues, la technologie, l’évaluation, la politique linguistique, la politique linguistique familiale et au-delà. Cet appel accueille une grande variété de soumissions interdisciplinaires qui peuvent (mais ne sont pas obligées) aborder les trois thèmes suivants : les compétences transversales, la mobilité et le bien-être.

Les compétences transversales se sont récemment imposées au niveau de l’éducation et de la société en général. Leur définition peut être difficile à cerner et elles sont connues sous différentes appellations : compétences douces, compétences du 21e siècle, compétences de base, compétences transférables, etc. (cf. Council of Europe ECML, 2021). Parmi les exemples de compétences transversales proposées par l’UNESCO (2015) figurent la citoyenneté mondiale, les compétences inter et intra-personnelles, la pensée critique et innovante, ainsi que la santé physique et psychologique. Les compétences transversales sont inextricablement liées à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage des langues ; elles s’appliquent également au bi/multilinguisme familial et sociétal dans un monde globalisé et ont donc une signification sociale primordiale.

La mobilité est une autre caractéristique de la société du 21e siècle. Les flux et les échanges d’idées à l’échelle mondiale, l’éducation internationalisée, les voyages personnels, les familles transnationales, la migration économique, ainsi que la fuite des guerres et des persécutions sont des types de mobilité qui soulèvent de nouvelles questions importantes. En outre, la technologie numérique a offert un autre type de mobilité, parallèlement à la mobilité physique. Ces nouveaux développements demandent un nouvel élan pour des pédagogies et des politiques innovantes, dans plusieurs des contextes suivants : enseignement et apprentissage des langues ; utilisation bi/multilingue dans les échanges académiques, culturels, commerciaux et dans la vie quotidienne ; soutien à la diversité et à l’inclusion mondiales ; accompagnement des populations migrantes plurilingues dans les salles de classe pour qu’elles deviennent des utilisateurs confiants et compétents de la langue du pays d’accueil tout en créant les conditions nécessaires à la préservation de leurs langues et identités d’origine ; et bien d’autres encore.

Le bien-être humain est étroitement lié aux thèmes ci-dessus. Des travaux récents sur le bien-être des enseignants de langues ont soulevé des questions sur la manière de s’assurer que les enseignants sont bien soutenus, validés, maintenus dans la profession, encouragés à innover et à impliquer les apprenants ; le bien-être des apprenants est une question clé dans un contexte de classes multilingues et multiculturelles avec divers besoins et objectifs uniques des apprenants. Soutenir le développement des enfants bilingues et multilingues au niveau familial et créer des passerelles vers la scolarité et d’autres contextes éducatifs formels font également partie de ce que l’on appelle le bi/multilinguisme harmonieux (De Houwer, 2020) et le bien-être général. Enfin, l’accent mis sur le bien-être général de toutes les parties prenantes est devenu de plus en plus important au cours de la pandémie de COVID-19 et de la reprise postpandémique tant attendue.

 

Liste non exhaustive de sujets :

  • Enseignement, apprentissage et évaluation des langues
  • Langue, technologie, ludification, citoyenneté numérique, mobilité virtuelle, intelligence artificielle
  • Politique linguistique et politique linguistique familiale
  • Langues de scolarisation, études en immersion, éducation bi-/multilingue, programmes de langues intensifs
  • Liens entre les langues familiales et les langues scolaires
  • Apprentissage des langues flexible, expérientiel, communautaire et informel
  • Autochtonisation des programmes de formation
  • Programmes d’études fondés sur des valeurs, la démocratie et la consolidation de la paix
  • Inclusion, justice sociale et équité
  • Langue, mobilité et migration
  • Sécurité et insécurité linguistiques
  • Prise de risque linguistique
  • Médiation, développement du langage tout au long de la vie
  • Former la prochaine génération de chercheurs et d’enseignants
  • Littératies académiques, littératies multiples et multimodalité
  • Tiers espaces et dialogue entre les espaces
  • Plurilinguisme, multilinguisme, translanguaging
  • Langues officielles, langues d’héritage, langues vivantes, langues autochtones, langues des signes, langues minoritaires, “grandes” langues et “petites” langues, langues autres que l’anglais (LOTE, par son acronyme en anglais).
  • Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens
  • CECR et son volume d’accompagnement
  • Psychologie de l’apprentissage des langues, émotions, psychologie positive.

 

Format des soumissions : présentations orales, posters, tables rondes, symposiums thématiques et ateliers. Des options de participation en personne et en ligne seront disponibles.

Dates Importantes :

Ouverture des soumissions : 1er juillet 2022

Fin des soumissions : 1er novembre 2022

Notifications d’acceptation et inscription : début 2023

Dates du colloque : 4-6 mai 2023


Lieu : Centre canadien d’études et de recherche en bilinguisme et aménagement linguistique (CCERBAL), Institut de langues officielles et du bilinguisme (ILOB), Université d’Ottawa.

 

Événements vedettes : Séances plénières, tables rondes et symposiums thématiques, ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel ; activités sociales (en personne et en ligne), et bien plus encore.

 

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez nous contacter à l’adresse suivante : ccerbal@uOttawa.ca.

 

Site web du colloque : https://ccerbal2023.sciencesconf.org/?forward-action=index&forward-controller=index&lang=fr

Le bilinguisme et au-delà - 2021
Banner CCERBAL Conference 2021

 

Le bilinguisme et au-delà : Faire avancer la réflexion sur les pédagogies, les politiques et les pratiques


29 avril - 1 mai 2021

L’APPEL À COMMUNICATIONS EST DÉSORMAIS FERMÉ

SÉANCES PLÉNIÈRES

Françoise Armand - Université de Montréal
James Cummins - University of Toronto
Onowa McIvor - University of Victoria 
Eva Vetter - University of Vienna

Le colloque est organisé par le CCERBAL en collaboration avec EDiLiC
Éducation et Diversité Linguistique et Culturelle

APPEL À COMMUNICATION
 

UNE VISION GLOBALE. Le monde a pris un virage multilingue : les nouvelles réalités mondiales multilingues et plurilingues ont donné un élan sans précédent à la poursuite des innovations en pédagogie, au niveau de l'évaluation, des politiques et dans l’usage des nouvelles technologies. Un appel à une plus grande reconnaissance et à des actions spécifiques dans l’exploration de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'équité et de la citoyenneté liées aux langues sont aujourd’hui au premier plan des réflexions et recherches dans le monde entier.

LE CONTEXTE CANADIEN. Conformément aux tendances mondiales, le Canada est entré dans une nouvelle ère dans sa réflexion et ses actions liées au rôle et aux impacts sociaux de sa diversité linguistique en tenant notamment compte des enjeux et de la complexité inhérente à cette diversité. Dans la continuité des célébrations sur le bilinguisme français-anglais, le gouvernement du Canada a récemment lancé des consultations sur la modernisation de la Loi sur les langues officielles et a annoncé un investissement de plus de 16 millions de dollars pour mettre en œuvre un programme d'apprentissage et de maintien gratuit du français et de l'anglais. De nombreuses voix en faveur d'une plus grande reconnaissance des langues autochtones ont également déclenché des consultations et l’adoption subséquente de la Loi sur les langues autochtones. Parallèlement, la diversité linguistique s’enrichit aussi des langues de l’immigration et aujourd’hui, près de 23 % des Canadiens déclarent posséder une langue autre que le français ou l'anglais comme langue maternelle (Statistique Canada, 2017).
 

L'APPEL. Dans ce contexte mondial et local, riche et stimulant, le Centre canadien d'études et de recherche en bilinguisme et aménagement linguistique (CCERBAL) lance un appel pour le Colloque du CCERBAL 2020. Nous accueillons les propositions pour des présentations individuelles, des affiches, des symposiums, des tables rondes et des ateliers qui repensent les frontières et font avancer la réflexion sur des sujets liés, mais non limités, à ce qui suit : 

  • Enseignement, didactique, apprentissage et évaluation des langues
  • Langues et technologies
  • Politiques linguistiques institutionnelles et politiques linguistiques familiales
  • Apprentissage flexible, expérientiel, communautaire et informel des langues
  • Littératies académiques, multilittératies et multimodalité
  • Langues de la scolarisation, études en immersion, éducation bi-/multilingue, programmes-intensifs des langues
  • Le rôle de la L1 ou des multiples L1, de la langue maternelle ou seconde ou de scolarité
  • Inclusion, justice sociale et équité
  • Création et intersection d’un troisième espace et dialogue entre ces sphères
  • Langue et migration
  • Plurilinguisme, multilinguisme, translanguaging
  • Langues officielles, Langues patrimoniales, Langues vivantes, Langues autochtones, Langues des signes, Langues minoritaires, Langues parlées par un grand nombre de locuteurs «big languages» et Langues parlées par un plus petit nombre de locuteurs «small languages»
  • Les autres langues que l’anglais «LOTE»


DATES IMPORTANTES :

Ouverture – soumission des communications : 1er août 2019

Fermeture – soumission des communications : 1er décembre 2019

Dates du colloque : 29 avril au 1er mai 2021


LIEU : Centre canadien d'études et de recherche en bilinguisme et aménagement linguistique (CCERBAL), Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme (ILOB), Université d’Ottawa.


ÉVÉNEMENTS À L’AFFICHE : Séances plénières, tables rondes et symposiums thématiques, ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel, activités sociales et plus.


PRÉSIDENTS DU COLLOQUE :

Nikolay Slavkov (Université d'Ottawa), Marie-Paule Lory (Université de Toronto Mississauga) et Catherine Levasseur (Université d’Ottawa).


Pour toutes questions, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l’adresse courriel suivante : ccerbal@uOttawa.ca.  
 

Le site Web du colloque : https://ccerbal2020.sciencesconf.org

 

« Translanguaging » : Opportunités et défis dans un monde globalisé - 2018

« Translanguaging » : Opportunités et défis dans un monde globalisé

Les conférenciers pléniers : Ofelia García (City University of New York), Guillaume Gentil (Carleton University), et Danièle Moore (Simon Fraser University)

ccerbal_titre_fr

Lieu : Pavillon des Sciences sociales, Université d’Ottawa

Dates du colloque : 3-4 mai 2018.

Séances spéciales : Tables rondes et symposiums thématiques sur la prise de risques linguistiques, les politiques linguistiques bilingues et multilingues, et bien davantage.

Thème du colloque : La notion de « translanguaging », qui s’adresse à l’utilisation complexe de plus d'une langue en tant que ressource (combinée), a capté l'imagination des chercheurs, des enseignants, et des preneurs de décisions, à travers le monde. Le rôle du « translanguaging » en tant que pratique linguistique et sociale dans des contextes familiaux, communautaires, éducatifs et institutionnels, pose de nombreuses questions stimulantes ainsi que des défis qui nécessitent de nouvelles discussions à partir de perspectives multidisciplinaires.

CCERBAL 2018: Conférence plénière d'Ofelia Garcia
CCERBAL 2018: Conférence plénière de Danièle Moore
CCERBAL 2018: Conférence plénière de Guillaume Gentil | Guillaume Gentil's Plenary Session
 

 

Visitez le site du colloque pour plus d'informations

Bilingue dès la naissance : processus, pédagogie et politique - 2016

 

CCERBAL Conferences

Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme, Université d’Ottawa

Visitez notre site web OCS pour l’inscription, le programme, les options de stationnement et plus de détails.

Voir les présentations PARTIE1 PARTIE2

28 et 29 avril 2016

L’Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme (ILOB), par l’entremise de son centre de recherche : le Centre canadien d’études et de recherche en bilinguisme et aménagement linguistique (CCERBAL), anime une conférence internationale intitulée «Bilinguisme dès la naissance : processus, pédagogie et politique».

La conférence de deux jours offre une occasion exceptionnelle aux chercheurs, professeurs, étudiants et à d’autres intéressés au développement du bilinguisme de se réunir et d’échanger des connaissances et des idées. Les symposiums sur invitation : Bilinguisme simultané dès la petite enfance et Conséquences du bilinguisme sur l’identité, ainsi que les tables rondes : Éducation des enfants dans plusieurs langues et Aspects de politiques culturelles et interculturelles serviront de tribunes aux discussions approfondies sur les thèmes de la conférence et faciliteront les échanges entre les conférenciers et les participants. La conférence se tiendra sur le campus bilingue de l’Université d’Ottawa, dans la capitale nationale du Canada. Les communications sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage des langues secondes et étrangères dans une optique de développement humain et une vaste gamme de contextes sont les bienvenues. Étant donné le lieu de la conférence, on accordera un intérêt particulier aux communications sur l’apprentissage des deux langues officielles du Canada (le français et l’anglais) ainsi que des langues autochtones, ancestrales et minoritaires.

Nous sollicitons les propositions d’exposés, d’ateliers et d’affiches sur les sujets suivants (la liste n’est pas exhaustive) :

  1. Acquisition simultanée de plusieurs langues
  2. Conséquences cognitives et sociales du bilinguisme et du plurilinguisme
  3. Évaluation des compétences linguistiques bilingues
  4. Caractéristiques de locuteurs bilingues exceptionnels
  5. Implications sociétales et politiques du développement du bilinguisme
  6. Enseignement simultané ou séquentiel de plusieurs langues
  7. Méthodes de recherche novatrices en développement du bilinguisme
  8. Aspects lexicaux, phonologiques et syntactiques du développement du bilinguisme.

Les présidents sont Christopher Fennell (fennell@uottawa.ca) et Richard Clément (rclement@uottawa.ca).

Visionner notre galerie de photos

Littératies et autonomie des apprenants avancés - 2014

Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme
Université d’Ottawa
24 et 25 avril 2014

Le centre de recherche de l’Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme, CCERBAL, organise son sixième colloque international, qui se tiendra en avril 2014 sur le campus bilingue de l’Université d’Ottawa. Le thème du colloque sera abordé sous diverses perspectives, dont :

  • L’évaluation de la compétence des bilingues de haut calibre. On y explorera les descripteurs de compétence proposés par le CECR et par les Canadian Benchmarks, les limites et les enjeux de divers outils d’évaluation, les idéologies et les normes qui sous-tendent les définitions assignées à l'apprenant avancé.
  • L’acquisition et le maintien des compétences linguistiques avancées en contexte éducatif et en milieu de travail. On y examinera les défis et les enjeux reliés à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage des apprenants avancés de langue(s), les besoins d’appui linguistique des bilingues à compétences élevées, l’autonomie des apprenants avancés de langue et l’autodidaxie.
  • L’utilisation des technologies en contexte d’apprentissage de langues à un niveau avancé. On discutera des défis et des enjeux reliées à l’autonomie, l’autodidaxie de l’apprenant avancé, des ressources technologiques les mieux adaptées à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage des apprenants avancés de langue(s), de celles à l’appui du bilingue à compétences élevées en milieu de travail, de la formation des maîtres et des formateurs.
  • La politique et l’aménagement linguistique en milieu de travail bi/plurilingue. On traitera des structures nécessaires au maintien d’un haut degré de bilinguisme chez ceux qui l’ont atteint, de la place de la langue dans les processus d’embauche, de promotion et de renouvèlement du personnel, ainsi que de la valorisation et la reconnaissance des compétences bilingues des apprenants avancés de langue(s).

Ce colloque de deux jours sera une occasion unique de rencontre afin de partager connaissances, idées, recherches et pratiques pour les chercheurs, enseignants, étudiants, professionnels responsables de politiques et d’aménagement linguistique ainsi que tous participants intéressés par la thématique des apprenants avancés de langue(s).

Les conférencières plénières :

Le symposium de la Chaire de recherche en ALAO :

Tables rondes :

Voir les vidéos de ces présentations

Visionner notre galerie de photos

HORAIRE du colloque avec auteurs et salles (23 avril 2014)

Pratiques innovantes en apprentissage des langues assisté par ordinateur (ALAO) - 2012
Latinus - 2012
20Bliain - 2011
Haut de page