Marie-Josée Hamel

CCERBAL photo

This OLBI research Chair in New technologies and Computer Assisted Language Learning(CALL) celebrates 20 years of research focusing on designing and developing ergonomic CALL resources for advanced learners of French. My approach to educational ergonomics has always been both theory-driven (top-down, conceptual) and learner-centered (bottom-up, empirical). Very early on (in the mid-90s), I have tried to be innovative in terms of exploiting ‘new’ technologies, such as natural language processing tools (sentence analyser, speech synthesiser) and more recently, usability tools (video-screen capturer) for language learning purposes, banking on their affordances to facilitate, enhance the language production process. My aim is to develop skills of ‘language professionals’ (des compétences de langagiers) for the advanced learners. This, in large part, involves increasing their in-depth (paradigmatic and syntagmatic) lexical knowledge as well as teaching them how to use efficiently (and creatively) available online language resources (such as dictionaries, thesaurus, grammar checkers, translators, etc.) so to become autonomous L2 writers, communicators.

Profiles and portraits of advanced learners mediating with technologies

Abstract
In this invited symposium, through the lenses of two on-going collaborative research projects, profiles and portraits of advanced learners mediating with technologies will be drawn.

Profiles – NICOLAS GUICHON, Université de Lyon 2
For the first project, I have invited my colleague, Nicolas Guichon, to present the results of an investigation into international students’ usage of technology. He conducted an exploratory study with international students at Master’s level at Lyon 2 University to determine what usage they have of technologies for social and academic purposes and whether there are overlaps between the two types of usage. Ten students from different countries participated in in-depth interviews and had to describe minutely what tools and applications they had used the day before the interview and for what usage. In sum, this research aims to understand what mediated practices are deployed by international students to learn, collaborate with their peers and develop their language skills. It should help determine whether the Learning Management System proposed at the university adequately addresses students’ needs and what human and technological accompaniment could be implemented to improve international students’ integration and academic success. 

Portraits –with JÉRÉMIE SÉROR, University of Ottawa & CHANTAL DION, Carleton University
In the second project, Writers in action!, my colleagues Jérémie Séror, Chantal Dion and myself are going to describe in terms of ‘observables’, the visible and audible traces of (metacognitive) strategies employed by language learners as they reviewed and reflected on writing processes linked to texts they had composed on a computer. These 'observables' are drawn from a corpus of screen-capture videos (n = 85) produced by advanced learners of French (n = 17) university L2 writing courses. We will examine the context and tasks which surrounded the creation of these videos and, based on a quantitative and qualitative parameter analysis, attempt to present dynamic portraits of effective and efficient L2 language writers. Conclusions will highlight the affordances of this technology as a way to help students gain conscious awareness of their actions and decisions when writing at the computer.

Back to top

Marie-Josée Hamel

photo gallery

La Chaire de recherche de l’ILOB en nouvelles technologies et apprentissage des langues assisté par ordinateur (ALAO) célèbre 20 ans de recherche portant sur la conception et le développement de ressources d’ALAO ergonomiques pour les apprenants avancés de français. Son approche de l’ergonomie éducationnelle est centrée sur la théorie (dirigée par le haut, conceptuelle) et sur l’apprenant (dirigée par le bas, empirique). Tôt (vers le milieu des années 90), elle a tenté d’innover en exploitant de ‘nouvelles’ technologies à des fins pédagogiques, tels les outils de traitement automatique du langage pour l’apprentissage des langues, en s’appuyant sur leurs affordances pour faciliter, optimiser le processus de production langagière. Son objectif est de développer chez les apprenants avancés des compétences de dites de ‘langagiers’. Cela implique, pour une large part, d’approfondir leur connaissance lexicale (paradigmatique et syntagmatique) ainsi que de les entraîner à utiliser de manière efficiente (et créative) les ressources lexicales en ligne (tels les dictionnaires, thésaurus, correcteurs grammaticaux, traducteurs, etc.) afin qu’ils deviennent des scripteurs, des communicateurs autonomes en L2.

PROFILS ET PORTRAITS D’APPRENANTS DE LANGUE AVANCÉS EN MÉDIATION AVEC LES TECHNOLOGIES

Résumé
Durant ce symposium invité, à travers la lorgnette de deux projets collaboratifs de recherche en cours, des profils et des portraits d’apprenants avancés seront tracés.

Profils – avec Nicolas Guichon, Université de Lyon 2
Pour le premier projet, j’ai convié mon collègue Nicolas Guichon de l’Université Lumière Lyon 2 à présenter les résultats d’une étude des usages numériques des étudiants internationaux de niveau avancé inscrits en Master. Il a mené une enquête exploratoire auprès de ceux-ci pour déterminer comment un échantillon de cette population utilise les outils et les applications technologiques à des fins sociales et académiques et si ces deux types d’usage se recoupent ou se complètent. Dix étudiants de différents pays ont participé à des entretiens semi-directifs pendant lesquels ils devaient décrire aussi précisément que possible les outils et applications qu’ils avaient utilisés la veille de l’entretien. Cette recherche vise donc à comprendre les pratiques médiatisées déployées par les étudiants internationaux pour apprendre, collaborer avec leurs pairs et développer des compétences langagières. Elle devrait contribuer à déterminer si les environnements numériques de travail (ENT) proposés dans les universités répondent aux besoins des étudiants et quel accompagnement humain et technologique pourrait être mis en place pour faciliter la réussite académique et l’intégration sociale des étudiants internationaux. 

Portraits –avec Jérémie Séror, Université d’Ottawa et Chantal Dion, Carleton University
Dans le second projet, Scripteurs en action, mes collègues Jérémie Séror, Chantal et moi-même allons procéder à une description, à partir de données «observables», de stratégies (de nature métacognitive) tant visibles qu'audibles utilisées par des apprenants de langue durant le processus d’écriture et de révision de textes accomplis à l’ordinateur. Ces «observables» ont été extraits d'un corpus dynamique de captures vidéo-écran (n=85) produites par des apprenants avancés de français (n=17) inscrits dans un cours universitaire d'écriture en langue seconde. Nous examinerons le contexte et les tâches entourant la création de ces captures vidéo-écran et procéderons à la présentation d'analyses de paramètres quantitatifs et qualitatifs. Nous tenterons ensuite de tracer des portraits dynamiques de scripteurs efficaces et efficients en langue seconde. Des conclusions mettront en évidence les affordances de cette technologie de capture vidéo-écran qui permet de déclencher et de mobiliser une attention consciente de la part des étudiants en processus de rédaction et de prise de décisions lorsqu’ils rédigent un texte à l’ordinateur.

Haut de page